Just when I thought

... the woodland floor was devoid  of fungi I came across this dark brown rounded shape with a hole chewed through it.  It's quite distinctive with its bright red stem but apart from being able to identify it as a Bolete, I'm currently no wiser.  The top looked slightly velvety rather than smooth.

I've just begun to keep an eye on the nearby Ayton Wood where I found quite a wide variety of fungi throughout September last year.  I did find one large clump of fungi at the base of a dead tree (sycamore - I think).  Last year I found a similar mound of fungi about 30 yards away in the same wood possibly one of the Coprinellus species.

Morning doing a variety of jobs in the company of Merv and afternoon in the garden to try and plant out some of my half drown plants that were still in the cold frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.