Webmaster

Waitrose can be very generous - but there is such a thing as  making a rod for your own back.

Lichfield Waitrose doesn't have a good mobile signal.  In fact, it doesn't have one at all. There is a My Waitrose offer for a free copy of the latest "Good Food Guide" for the first 65 customers this Bank Holiday who can turn up, with the voucher they've been emailed. The email specifically says that you should bring your smartphone as an alternative to printing out the voucher.

I decided to go down after my workout - and because I needed some fresh salad and fruit for the week.

I arrived before they opened - and the car park was FULL.  The normally sedate and refined Waitrose was in chaos.  Queues for the desk. Some customers had printed vouchers of various quality. Smartphone users - a problem. No signal.  No voucher number. No free book !!

The charming staff were doing their best. The lovely duty manager smiled and said, "It's because we're built of brick." Clearly not the best option in our digital age.

My webmaster in the photo is having no such problem.

(P.S.  I had my iPad with me - showing the number. And the book is lovely.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.