Flamingos

In waterside places, and warm,
Tall, bright pink flamingos will swarm.
In the water they wade,
A long-legged parade:
Such an elegant, feathery form.

But when it is time for a meal,
The colony's stance seems surreal:
Heads upturned in their need
To strain silt as they feed.
You would think a flamingo would kneel!

© Celia Warren 2015


Rain, rain and more rain: typical bank holiday weekend weather! 

We dropped the youngsters off at Agatha Christie's holiday home (now a National Trust property) that overlooks the River Dart, when we discovered you have to pre-book a parking place. Before picking them up again, we kicked our heels visiting the outskirts of Paignton Zoo so that I could photograph flamingos. 

Earlier today, I managed to upload the photos that I couldn't post earlier last week, duly fiddled with to remove the data on my Lumix camera that Blipfoto doesn't like. They are my first zoom shot and my first panoramic shot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.