Family Connections.

Today I have been putting together some of our family tree. My cousins and I started some time ago and came to a halt, but a cousin in Mass. USA came to visit with a lot more information. We were thrilled to see this picture on one of the documents. It is of Ellen Harborne  (nee Tysoe) born 1847 died 1908, who was a daughter of my great, great grandparents. I believe she would be my gt,gt, aunt, but there are a lot of different opinions when I looked it up. I reckoned as my father's siblings are my aunts and uncles, I worked it out from there. I managed to enhance the picture a little and noticed that my grandmother, now deceased, and whom it is said I resemble, looked very much like Ellen. A fascinating subject. We also found a bit of a scandal as in the 1600's another ancestor John Tysoe, a Quaker, was sent to Newgate gaol for his preaching and emigrated to Mass.USA, where he was also sent to Boston gaol for preaching. The captain of the ship he arrived in was required to deport him back on the the penalty of £100 fine. Can't wait to find out more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.