snailspace

By snailspace

Backblip: Inganess morning (Friday)

We slept well at Inganess and despite the fact that the site is adjacent to Kirkwall Airport, it was not the planes that woke us but Teddy, anxious to be fed.

It was a beautiful morning and the day only improved. There are walks from this point and  we set off after breakfast to take the footpath along the loch and over (eventually) the road to the wood beyond. We were actually defeated by the muddy conditions there and returned to the car park, where we elected to try the cliff walk before lunch.

The cliff path skirts the airfield grounds but is well fenced. Nell enjoyed herself greatly and we found it very pleasant too, although by now the sun was far too hot for my tastes. There were masses of wild flowers, with plenty of butterflies, bees and other insects partaking of the available feast. Good views, with wrecked boat, stone bridge and seals on hand for picturesque quality. (Extra pic 1)

We packed up and set off for Deerness, where we planned to park at the Mull Head Nature Reserve for two nights. We were becoming hungry and thought a detour to the Geo Slipway for a lunch stop would be a good idea. This we did and while we chomped on our sandwiches we both agreed that we love the location and so decided to stay for the night.

The orange moon came up full in an almost totally clear sky. It lit up a golden path across the slips and I could not resist getting the camera out. By the time that I had set up, the moon was higher and had turned silver. None of my photos really came out very well but extra pic 2 may give an idea of the scene.  I tried to shoot the moon too but all of my images came out soft - I have better moon pics taken on previous occasions.

Thursday
No Blip for Saturday, sorry. I left my camera behind when we did the Mull Head walk, and I am glad that I did so. It was hard going and lugging all that weight with me would have done for me long before I made it back to the car park!
Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.