LadyYakAlot

By LadyYakAlot

Up Where We Belong

It’s been a funny couple of days and I’ve been feeling a bit miserable and down in the dumps (don’t think the weather helped there!). This evening the weather had improved and a lift was available so I was able to get back to Duxford to bring the Beast home. This was to be a solo flight (my perspective paxs never picked up their phones!!) -  my first in the Beast since I can’t remember when! Since we’d had mag problems in May this year I have been very nervous of flying in the Yak.
 
The Beast looked magnificent basking in the evening sunshine at Duxford, the low cloud and drizzle from a couple of days ago was a mere distant memory! She fired up first time and before I knew it we were airborne. What an amazing flight home … I was filled with the wonder of the Suffolk countryside before me and the air was smooth as silk. Instead of nervously clenching my hands I was happily gazing around me, and even taking a selfie at 1800ft as I was approaching base for 05 – ooops! Thank goodness for the sink rate of a Yak!!
 
It was a truly lovely flight home and certainly cheered me up no end. On reflection of the flight these words from a favourite song sprung to mind …  


Who knows what tomorrow brings
In a world, few hearts survive
All I know is the way I feel
When it's real, I keep it alive

The road is long, there are mountains in our way
But we climb a step every day

Love lift us up where we belong
Where the eagles cry on a mountain high
Love lift us up where we belong
Far from the world we know, up where the clear winds blow

Some hang on to "used to be"
Live their lives, looking behind
All we have is here and now
All our life, out there to find

The road is long, there are mountains in our way,
But we climb them a step every day

Love lift us up where we belong
Where the eagles cry on a mountain high
Love lift us up where we belong
Far from the world we know, up where the clear winds blow

Time goes by
No time to cry
Life's you and I
Alive, today

Love lift us up where we belong
Where the eagles cry on a mountain high
Love lift us up where we belong
Far from the world we know, up where the clear winds blow
 

I certainly know where I belong!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.