Spikey!

It's a lovely weather again, cooler but sunny and dry so good for another load of washing on the line. I found  about hundred Peacock butterfly caterpillars crawling all over a stinging nettle patch down near the pond. I've included a group shot of a few of them in extras. If you've been following my journal for a while you might remember I blipped some last year that we found and documented their metamorphosis. I've been down the track twice today and I still can't decide whether to do it again or just to leave them be.

Apart from the caterpillars, I saw hoverflies, lots of spiders sitting in webs and under plants and quite a few butterflies. I saw a squirrel leaping about in different trees to usual. At first I thought it was pigeons or jays and then I heard the chatter and saw a flash of red. I've added a shot to extras of it climbing up a branch and looking very cute. It's not great quality as it was a way off, but I like it.

When I was walking back up the track to go home the second time, I almost came face to face with the buzzard! It was quite a remarkable moment really, as I've only ever seen them perched high up or circling very high in the sky. Hopefully it'll stay around and I'll get to see it again and maybe even blip it!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.