Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Storm at sea

I think I am turning into a cranky old woman.  I hope I can become very eccentric as well and get a reputation and people won't cross me.  I chased a pathetic sunset to the west this evening and then did some shopping.  On my way back home I kept getting that static on the radio which meant there was some lightning around.  I spotted the storm out to sea and here above Merewether baths was the first place I stopped to catch it.  I then went up to Strezlecki lookout where the Anzac Memorial walk is and set up catching shots of it and a ship leaving the harbour.  Several people out walking shone their torches in my direction, car headlights spotlit me as they parked and then a bloke saunters up fag in mouth and says was I getting any good shots.  This infuriates me (OK perhaps an exaggeration, I am more amused by the question than infuriated) as how the hell do I know whether the shot is any good until I can get it up on a big screen and have a proper look at it.  Saying "Yes they are all fabulous mate" is a bit ingenuous don't you think.  Anyway my reply was probably not much with all this light around.  He asked me whether there was anything worth shooting and I pointed out the lightning storm out to sea.  Well he was like a rat out of an aqueduct  back to his car to get his gear.  I left him happily snapping away and went home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.