Eric Liddell

Over the past couple of days I have been assessing the progress of eight research students in their six-monthly review meetings.

Three of them presented transfer reports. These are due at the end of the first year of study. If the transfer report is deemed successful, the student concerned transfers from 'research student' status to fully-fledged 'PhD student'. If not, the student is 'referred' to do some extra work to bring the report up to the required standard.

One of my three didn't quite made the grade today. I took her to the Eric Liddell Centre cafe at lunchtime to commiserate over a cup of tea and a slice of carrot cake. I think I've convinced her that she'll get there soon.

Then I came home to something very special: Mr hazelh cooked a surprise dinner (can you guess what?) because we're going to be apart over the weekend. Thursday is the new Friday.

By the way, if you think you don't know who Eric Liddell was, think again: have you seen Chariots of Fire? That's him!

Exercise today: walk to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.