Light at the end of the tunnel

I almost managed to write off the day today barely before it began. I set off a little later than usual for the 05:40 train from Waverley to Kings Cross. I arrived at the station a little stressed, though relieved to have made it on time - but then I got onto the wrong train!

It was a train to London, it was on Platform 1, my seat reservation was for Edinburgh to Kings Cross. What made me suspicious was that there were other reservations in the carriage for Morpeth and Doncaster. It was then that I realised that I had boarded the (slow) train that departs at 05:48. Fortunately I still had time to leap out of the carriage and run across the station to platform 11 to find my seat on the right service.

After this minor mishap I had a really good day. In the eight or so hours that I was at my "desk" on the EastCoast service I wrote a reference, reviewed a journal article, read materials for a PhD panel session on Friday, and started making corrections on a journal article of my own. In between all that, I attended a couple of meetings in London and caught up with a friend over lunch. I do sometimes think that I am at my most productive when in transit...

My blip is the roof above platform 1 at Kings Cross, snapped just before I boarded the northbound service home again at 14:00.

Exercise today: belting up the hill to catch the train on time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.