New Morninglight over the Weser River

This morning shortly after 7.30 am. I stood on the Weserbridge, leaning on the railing, looking out into the eastern rivervalley. It felt so good to be there. There was hardly noisy traffic crossing over the bridge. Apart from the usual first lorrie coming down from the stonequarry, the daily traffic had not yet taken its course. Too early for the people in town to get underway. In silence I watched the quick floating and whirling stream passing under my feet. Smelling the fresh misty air waving through the valley. I felt that this now is for me the place to be.


Not at the salty seaside, cold and windy, turning now from its friendly summerface into more grim, autumnal characters. Here in this middle-european terrestial atmosphere, many everyday experiences are different from those at that far away seaside. But for now and much of the future to come: this is my miraculous world. Sure, I will see that great old North Sea again. But really, my world has changed. This Riverside and climbing and walking through these mountain forests and open uplands is changing us, definitely.

On my way back to breakfast, as I crossed the railwaybridge, suddenly a jolly melody came tuning out of the railing. My open jacket had hit it with a low outhanging button: “Didelipom”...it was like the tune of a xylophone. I smiled and felt cheerful in my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.