War Cemetery in Loughborough

I arrived early at Loughborough Crematorium for the committal of David Dorward. I'd come to support his wife Judith who sings with me in the Leicester Bach Choir.

I took the opportunity to have a look at the cemetery where I was surprised to see several tombs with inscriptions in Italian. I had heard once that there was an Italian prisoner of war camp near here in World War II.

Walking on a little further, I came across the unmistakeable gravestones of a war cemetery, this time of Italian soldiers who were 'Morto per la Patria.' There weren't many but it did leave me with the impression of a little patch of Italy in the corner of an English graveyard.

If you want to see what I did with yesterday's dragon, look here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.