a hummer of a story...

...and a hummer of a photo

well - i admit, it's not the best photo - by any stretch of the imagination - but that's not my reason for posting it - sometimes there is a back story - to a situation that is begging to be told - this photo is the one which will bring it to mind - when i look back - so here's what happened

i went to one of my favorite flower gardens - as i was walking through - i heard the unmistakable sound of hummers in the air - glancing up, sure enough - there were 2 of them - in fighting form, 1 landed in a nearby tree - as he was resting on the branch - i began to have a conversation with him - asking (really begging, if you will) - if he'd come frolic at the flowering bush - which was sitting to my side - he practically ignored me - so i figured my chances of him - coming down were slim to none - however suddenly he was gone from the tree - and i heard him hovering - close to me - holding my breath, i snapped off several shots - what i had failed to do - while chatting with him - was to set my camera up properly - so that his wings would be in focus - and those kinds of things - but when you're caught up in the moment - you sort of forget the little things - to me it doesn't really matter - the bigger value here - is that i had an - incredible interaction with a remarkable hummingbird - how often do you get to say that? - by far a so-so photo is okay with me - because it made for...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.