Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Another holiday!

Unlike our Greek holiday in July, this one has been planned for a while. We had a good drive 'Oop North' and on the way had a very nice couple of hours with my sister who I do not see as often as I would like. She has not been well but I was glad to see she looked better than when I last saw her earlier this year. On to our cottage on the North Yorkshire Moors; my picture is of the kitchen and the views from the window are superb. We're not far from the North Yorkshire Moors Railway so expect plenty of steam train blips over the next couple of weeks.

The cottage is lovely and very rustic but comfortable. I had read reviews on Trip Advisor that mentioned the next door neighbour, one of which referred to her as 'Cruella de Ville' who told them where they should park their car. Imagine the scene. There is a very wide and wet grass verge between the road and the cottage, and the next door cottage has a line of paving stones across the verge. Being a reasonable sort of person (I think), rather than churn up the grass carrying all our things into the cottage I started to walk across the paving stones. Bad move. Out came Cruella to see if 'she could help'; I somehow sensed that she was not intending to carry my suitcase and I was right. She didn't like us walking across her paving stones. The odd thing is I expected someone really old but I guess she was about early 40's. And sad. But I've got her measure now.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.