The sunflower crop at Stancombe Beech farm

Helena brought a flower vase, or rather a pretty blue jug, back from Argyll in Scotland last week.  She asked me to get some fresh sunflowers again from the farm shop near Bisley as well as their very special big potatoes we like to bake, as they remind us of our youth when potatoes had fabulous flavour.

Ashley the farmer told me they had just cut down a fresh crop for them to sell as cut flowers, but I still wanted to go and photograph whatever was left. In fact there was still at least a fifth of the original crop left with many flowering.  I have added a wide shot in the 'Extras' today.

When I got up close I saw that the bees and other insects feeding on the flowers were profuse.  I began to notice how the outer parts of the sunflower head ripens first and then it moves progressively in a spiral (which are most noticeable when the seeds have formed ) towards the centre.

When I got up close I was intrigued with the range of bee types attracted to the abundant nectar. I changed lens to a macro but because of the angle of the heads I couldn't get a profile shot to show the bee's head as it fed on the masses of individual capsules holding the nectar.  You can see the pollen all over its body.

I spent a day a few months ago with Ashley's brother who looks after the honey production side of their business, and I learnt a lot about bee behaviour.  I must ask him about the other wilder bees that were so prevalent today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.