CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Sparrowhawk over Wainlode Hill

Helena joined with some friends from the WEA on a day trip to Compton Verney, so I decided to enjoy the sun too.  I drove to Gloucester to buy some tofu and other supplies from the warehouse selling asian foods.

I felt like going to the River Severn but instead of heading south towards the sea I headed north to find the pub on the river bank at Wainlode Hill.  It is a very quiet spot where an old single track road joins the river and you can sit on the grass at a bend in the river and watch the boats and wildlife go by.  For some reason a pub was built there, even though there are no houses nearby, just fields and a lazy river.

Before sitting down with some ale, I found a track that dropped down onto a small beach at the river's edge where it undercuts Wainlode Hill which rises high above the water.  It was only about two hundred yards long and delightfully quiet so I just stood very happily watching the martins and swifts flying high above the water.  

I looked up to the top of the hill and spotted a bird hovering over the trees on the cliff edge but it moved away too quickly to catch a picture of it. But when it returned I was ready.  Then I spent time with some 'Summer Solstice' beer which was delicious.

I've also posted an 'Extra photo' of a buzzard that flew over the river as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.