Helping with the grape harvest

As I lay in bed yesterday with a cup of tea I spotted a blackcap flitting from branch to branch in search of food.  I was surprised to see one as they have been away all summer, so I assume they are back for the winter.

Today I glanced out of the same window and saw a blackbird fly away, startled by my opening the window. I went to get a camera and stood for a few minutes watching for any other birds.  Thsi female blackbird flew into the middle of the tree's branches and was out of sight most of the time. Then I saw it eyeing up the grapes just above its head and caught this shot.

A few years ago I bought a vine in the Stroud market and planted it in the garden about five yards beyond the footings of the house. I vaguely tended it but always left the fruit for the wildlife to enjoy as I never thought there would be enough from one vine to make any wine. In recent years my gardening has been rather perfunctory so that the vine has spread and now it has reached the top of this tree which must be about thirty foot high. I'm sure the birds are delighted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.