The Show

Today being the first Saturday in September was the day of the Dalmally Show.   However I had also made a commitment to attend the Clachan Smallholders Event in Kintyre, so Cathleen and I ended up driving almost 150 miles so that we could be at both.     Such distances are not unusual in Argyll & Bute but I know that  some of my constituency MSP colleagues are pretty horrified when I mention them .

Anyway,  the two  events were very much worth attending and the journey between them down the east side of Loch Awe was beautiful as ever although the ancient wine and beer I had looked forward to at Clachan  was not yet ready - I would have had to have stayed on for the dance to  try it and that wasn't possible.  Gareth however promised me a sample  soonest though !

I have  blipped the show at Dalmally on an occasion when those attending  were ankle deep in mud and water but today  the sun shone and  everyone was having a great day out.   

Dalmally is a very traditional show with competitions for  sheep, cattle, horses, dogs, flowers, crafts, baking , garden produce, shepherds crooks and lots of other things.  

This winning display of onions caught my eye as  did the alpacas from Kintyre, with which I had my picture taken. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.