Revisiting

This is the BBC studios in Glasgow , built a few years ago on the site of the 1988 Garden Festival in the old docks on the south bank of the Clyde .

In the years that I worked in TV I was a regular at the old premises at Queen Margaret Drive in the west end of the city , now mostly demolished and turned over to housing. There were indeed times I worked on programmes there as a freelance independent producer and director.

Later , as a party spokesman, an MSP in the first parliament and subsequently as a Minister I would turn up there or (eventually) here to take part in broadcasts.

I don't think I have been back since I left government in November 2014 but this evening I was in the place again ( and also next door at STV ) talking about Brexit in anticipation of my nomination tomorrow in the Parliament to my new role.

Which will , no doubt, mean re-visiting from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.