*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

248/365: The Curse of Milner Field

Did all my recycling in the morning and then walked back from Dowley Gap via Milner Field.

I don't go up there often as I find it an odd place. I'm not a superstitious person whatsoever, and I'm pretty sure it's only because I know the history, but there's an oppressive atmosphere and being there makes me feel a bit uneasy and melancholy. It always seems gloomy, even on a sunny day, and it's too quiet. And not in a good way. But sometimes I get the urge to go back, while the evidence of it is still there, like I did today.

At one time there was a magnificent mansion there - built by Sir Titus Salt's son. He died in the billiard room, not far from the spot where I took this photo. The house was then bought by James Roberts - his family suffered many terrible tragedies. Subsequent owners also did. In the end a buyer/tenant couldn't be found and it was abandoned. In the 1950s it was eventually demolished.

All that remains now is a pile of rubble, evidence of the cellars and the mosaic floor of the Winter Garden. I have added an extra of the mosaic floor, one of the passage to the Winter Garden now and how it looked back then. Hope you find them interesting.

If any local people haven't been I would very much advise you not to go alone. It's a bit of a strange place and I found evidence of fires, alcohol and serious drug use up there so please take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.