BVFL33

By BVFL33

Whaley Bridge to Fernilee Reservoir, Goyt Valley

Whaley Bridge is a 40 minute train ride from Manchester. I took my bike . The Station Master was locking up but took time to unlock for me in order I could take photos of the splendid inner part now renovated to how it was when 1st built . He agreed to my taking his picture. Then the hard work began. The Peak District is aptly named .Coffee first to ensure I pedalled up Long Hill ( another well named spot) Very steep with twists and bends, it was slow , laborious but a great challenge. At last I spotted my next 'watering hole' . The Shady Oak  where a scone, clotted cream and jam fuelled my legs .Off  much further up the Goyt Valley . Then turned and rode back to take a left and rode way down to the Fernilee Reservoir. Beautiful with lovely colours on the distant hills .Riding around one saw deer and many birds .I wasn't fast enough for the deer.
Later I whizzed down the hill back to Whaley Bridge and just missed my train. The next was an hour later .There were others in the same boat . I met these young people, 3 Polish and 1 Spaniard and we had so many laughs .Never has an hour gone so quickly .As the train came in I asked them to line up whilst I got a blip . Terrific individuals and they insisted on putting my bike on the train .Yet another day to remember and a box to be ticked meaning, 'challenge met '.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.