Small copper

Willow is a little better today, but awaiting her blood culture results on Monday. Arab says she is quite quiet, but that is probably all the antibiotics they are giving her.
We have been rushing around a bit all day, so this afternoon I went for a quick trip out to Itchingfield church to have a look round the churchyard. It was freezing cold, but I was surprised to see 3 different species of butterfly in my travels, a Common blue, a Green-veined white, and last but not least this stunning little Small copper Lycaena phlaeas . The Small copper is a fast flying little butterfly that usually occurs in small discrete colonies, often of only a few individuals throughout the British Isles.
It is unmistakable with very bright copper-coloured markings on the forwings, although with the wings shut I have to check twice as I think it looks a bit like the far less common Brown Hairstreak. 
This one was busy sipping nectar from some late flowering lavender, and being busy was willing to stay still long enough for me to get a few shots. Happy days 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.