Pretty in pink

First half day Friday today, and it wasn't raining , granted the sun wasn't shining either, but RESULT!!!!
I went to Iping common to look for spiders, and dragonflies, and found both in small numbers, but this Meadow grasshopper Chorthippus parallelus really caught my eye.
Meadow grasshoppers are fairly common and widespread in Britain, preferring damp old grasslands.
They are 10 - 23mm long, the males are usually long winged, while females usually have short wings. They are usually mostly green in colour with brown wings although sometimes they are entirely brown. Colour seems to be determined by genetic race, and some females have the genes which produce pink colouration like this one.
I am really pleased I managed to catch her, as she is a worthy blip and I am sure you agree a really attractive colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.