Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Sonic Rock 2012: Au Revior Builth Wells

Bigger skies look better!

Woke today to gorgeous weather - isn't that just typical?
Under the lovely sun the Builth Wells landscape and the skies looked beautiful - and we were all packing up to leave :((
My first time at the Sonic festival, and it's been great (apart from that weather the first two days!). Fanatastic atmosphere and people (total strangers smiling and greeting each other), wonderful scenery and of course - crucial for me - some terrific music. I haven't been to a festival for quite a lot of years due to personal circumstances, and I've missed them badly.
The whole atmosphere and ambience at Builth Wells reminded me of festivals from way back at the start of the 70s - what I've seen of the big festivals on TV nowadays is a far cry from those earlier ones (even the big ones with hundreds of thousands there).

Oh, and there were Red Kites gliding around - my first ever sighting of them (though I did see a couple briefly near Peterborough on my drive from Norfolk on Thursday)

As for that scenery - here's another view, and here's yet another. Just gorgeous .....

So as far as I'm concerned it's not 'goodbye' to Builth Wells, just 'au revior' until next year. My kind of venue, my kind of people, my kind of music ... roll on Sonic 2013!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.