Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

RIIS I

For the past few days I have been working on my panel of images for the RPS assessment next month, and I have been editing images until I am not sure what I am seeing anymore. I am lacking a certain image to complete my panel and so after breakfast I decided I needed an image of water, and so we headed off to the Molesley lock where there is a rather extensive weir.

When we got there the river was very busy with many boats waiting to go through the lock - we did not realise it but it was the regatta of the Dunkirk Little Ships. There were many boats with veterans on board in their smart uniforms and medals.

Here you can see RIIS I going through the lock. This little boat was built in Scotland in 1920 as a 21st birthday present for the daughter of a shipping company. It was originally named White Heather but was changed to RIIS I when it was sold in 1949 after her naval service ended.

Access to the weir was blocked off and I never got my water images...I am running out of time and enthusiasm for this panel, but I suppose I need to see it through now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.