weewilkie

By weewilkie

the warmth in the evening chill

I walked my daughter down the hill and saw her off to her mum's. It had been a sunny day, but the wind was cool. The sinking sun radiated against the sandstone of a tenement we passed. It lit up the evening like my daughter's smile. I gave her a hug and off she went, and I nipped down to the river to see sunset on water (see extras).
This coming week I start back at work. It's been four months and I'm looking forward to stepping - stick in hand - into the workday world again. When I think back I've come such a long way and just being able to be out walking with my daughter then down to the river is a part of my life I thought I might lose.
Yet here I am on this threshold, the chill winds of autumn setting in while the last of the summer sun warms the evening, irresistible in the shimmering water. My broken life heading back to where it was before.
Gulls glide easily in the amber sky, on the walkway children play on bicycles and lovers soak in the scene. I have walked towards this, I made it here. An ordinary miracle in itself. Such ordinary miracles are we out here in the embers of the day's light.
Tomorrow the sun rises again. Tomorrow I go out walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.