Tiny Tuesday - A Tiny Stamp from a Tiny Nation

I was having a bit of a tidy in the top of a wardrobe when I came across the stamp album I had as a child. Do children still collect stamps these days? It was a wonderful way to learn geography.  I was pretty serious about it for a while, using pocket money to buy packets of used stamps and the tiny little sticky hinges to attach them in the album.

I had a lovely browse down memory lane, and marveled at how different stamps are these days. This stamp is one of a series commemorating the centennial of the settlement of New Zealand 1840 - 1940.

It is not my earliest stamp though. Many of the stamps were undated but in the extras is a stamp commemorating the silver jubilee of King George the 5th and Queen Mary, a year before he died. Incidentally, one of his hobbies was stamp collecting.

Both of these were well before I was born - but my father was English and the latter one probably came on 'letters from home'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.