Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

sweet Summer.

In summers sweetest air I sat by the sparkling and lazy river, the gentle breeze dancing around me filled with the scents of nettle and wild flowers. Pedestrian clouds sauntered by leaving my eyes to chase shadow and light, patterns of the reflected sky in grass and river hues.
Mysterious Skylarks sung from invisible cloud perches while bees and other buzzing things hummed softly. The quietest of whispering melodies rose and fell among the tall grasses as the shadowed breeze brought the lightest chill, making bumps on my flesh.
Buttercups bobbed and curtsied in favour of madam wind but soon returned to their nosey peering, reaching over cow nibbled grass to see more of this beautiful day.

Like chess pieces, a crowd of Geese float strangely stationary on the lapping river, as if waiting for a passing bus. Down here amongst the sights and sounds of life without a care, my arms gently browning in the sun, birdsong playing on the wind.......... wondrous peace.

As my mind eases and the pulse of life slows, stillness and quiet nestle down deep in my heart, a warm duvet on cold winters night. For life's indiscretions of previous days hang over me and the space and search for forgiveness break upon such dreamy shores as is mine now. Pleasant company I keep, sitting among scratchy grass, itchy Nettle and stinging Bee, they do not judge, they do not need, no hate do they bare or spiteful anger harbour. In them I find truth, they simply are!

As the sound of merriment from countless birdsong wraps its most tender of love about me, I smile, contentment and peace. Time to join the world again, acknowledge the place that I dwell and walk amongst concrete and brick, noise and bustling. Endeavour, I shall, to bring a peaceful smile to the worried and stressed countenance of all my fellow travellers.

A long death, this life is, if not lived.

A long sleep it most certainly is if you don't ever truly wake up, smell and breath deeply, sit amongst the nettles for a while!

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.