Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Tiny Tuesday: SIMs

This is a rather zany offering from me, but at the end of a tiring day, this is it; made possible because on Saturday, the supermarket we shopped at were giving away free SIM cards for any purchase. As SweetArt is visiting soon, I thought it was a good chance to organise a SIM for her. The kind lady who registered it even cut it down to size for free. Apparently it costs £10 if the telco do it.

Anyway, back to this blip. SIM cards. Don't you just LOVE them? Where would we be without them? All that technology on something so tiny. Your phonebook, some data, pictures, documents etc etc. It is truly the heart of the phone. I've always thought the original size was small enough, so wondered why it was necessary to go smaller with the micro-SIM. Perhaps it was a way for phone companies to get consumers to change their handsets. So when the iPhone came out with the nano-SIM... well, I really don't know what to think. They must have good reason. Perhaps someone can enlighten me.

All I can say is, if it is recommended not to touch the metal surface or get your fingerprint or dust or scratches on it, how in the world do you put it into the phone in the first place? Never mind. They do a grand job. That's the important thing.

After work, G picked me up and we called in at the tailor, did a small shop at the local hypermarket (where G has finally got herself a laminator), put petrol in the Volvo and still managed to sit down to eat by 7:30! And now, BBC World have just announced that in a few hours, Queen Elizabeth II will be the longest reigning Monarch ever! History in the making in my lifetime! Actually, when I think about it, there's been a phenomenal amount of one-off or very rare things that have happened in my lifetime. :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.