Visitors from New Zealand

One surprise about having an exhibition in Dunblane is that it gets a fair number of overseas visitors-like Shona and Don Keir from New Zealand.
Most are drawn there partly because of the cathedral, dating back to early 13th  century or as in the in the case of the Keirs returning to their homeland to see what has changed and to revisit family.
 
 
Has it changed? “Yes” Shona who leftover 30 years ago for a new life in New Zealand. “It’s a lot busier.”
“Any regrets about going?”
She laughs.
“None! We have a lovely house on the north island close to the sea and I swim there throughout the summer.”
 
I wonder how many of us thought in our younger days of emigrating and never took the plunge?  I know I did.
   
I only got as far as Scotland.
Earlier I had visitors from Australia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.