Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

ExtraDays and I met up for a walk this afternoon, we had intended to walk over the new Tilikum Crossing (our newest bridge) but it's not officially open until the 12th.  Bummer!  The streetcars and MAX lines are crossing, but crossing empty.  No pedestrians and no cyclists either.  

Instead we walked the East Bank Esplanade, over Steel Bridge - from where I took this, the grain elevator in action loading up a cargo ship seen through the struts of the bridge - then down the west side of the river and back over the Hawthorne Bridge.  It's a good walk and not one I've done for a while, it's noisy and lots to see, tons of cyclist whizzing by at speed, too.  It was fun.

As I was waiting for the (delayed) streetcar for my trip home at the east side of the Tilikum Crossing I had a chat with the Trimet guy, I asked him how all the timings were going with the transit, he said some stretches were great but there are problems with a switch on the new bridge and technicians are having to manually deal with the switches in the track - hopefully to be resolved before the real opening on the 12th!  He said it had been a bit of a week, one of the streetcars had ended up on the MAX line...  

Me:  I don't usually take the streetcar because it's sooooo sloooow.
Trimet guy: Yeah, I don't blame you.

LOL!

An extra of some readers that we passed on our walk...


81ºF

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.