Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Central Eastside Industrial District, SE 3rd Ave.

Had a busy morning and took care of a bunch of stuff so decided to take a break, I was just having a mooch around the Eastside Industrial District (there's a good hardware store on SE Stark) and I thought I'd found my blip for today, a new addition to my utility pole series, but as I was meandering along I came across a mural and had another one of those random conversations...

Woman* (who you see on the phone in the picture): Hey, do you like our mural?
Me: I do, yes. Is it part of the Forest For The Trees project?
Woman: Yes, it is, you know about that? Have you checked out any of others?
Me: I've seen a couple of the new ones up on Alberta...
Woman: I'm glad you like the mural, I'll have to tell my Dad, he's confused by it, he can't work out what it is.
Me: Well, it's a thing, an abstract thing...
Woman: Yes, I've told him it's an abstract... I like the tentacles coming out of the wall best, with the little whale. The whole thing was supposed to be higher up on the wall but because the ground is so uneven right here we couldn't get a platform constructed.
Me: I think it's great and it certainly made me stop and photograph it as you saw. Who's the artist?
Woman: The artist is from Philadelphia, he's called NoseGo, he did a tower over at one of the microbreweries, I can't remember the name of it... But there's another mural further down (she pointed south) that's part of the Forest For The Trees, you should go check it out.

We stood and talked for a bit, she and her family own City Liquidators which you see in the background. We talked about Portland and the continued hot summer weather we're having and what constitutes good weather here versus other cities, it was quite funny.

Me: Nice talking to you!
Woman: You too, enjoy your afternoon.

*Emma Pelett - I didn't realize at the time that I was having a conversation with Miss Oregon.

76ºF/24ºC

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.