Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

The history of women in Innbærinn

On this day, June 19th 1915, the Danish king signed a bill and Icelandic women 40 years and older became voters in Iceland. Long story, but we commemorate the suffrage every year.

To celebrate the day I participated in a historical walking tour in my neighbourhood, Innbærinn (the oldest part of Akureyri) where the history of women was the main theme. Hörður Geirsson, archivist of the photo department of the Museum of Akureyri, told us many interesting stories and showed us some photographs. I had a really nice afternoon in the company of great women (and a man, there was one beside Hörður!).

Tonight the women's photography club is meeting in Lystigarðurinn for a group-photo - I'm looking forward to it!!

One more photo in Blipfolio, I like the look of this house ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.