Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Marching graduates

Every year, just after midnight on the National Day of Iceland, the graduates of Akureyri Junior College come and march, dance and sing on the town square.

This is the first time since I moved to Akureyri, 9 years ago, that I have the energy to stay up so late and be a part of the audience when they come downtown in busloads, all wearing their white hats, to start the festivities.

It was so much fun!! I had a hard time choosing only one photo, so I've uploaded a few more to my Blipfolio. Notice the last one - could you imagine dancing and marching wearing those shoes?? I must be getting very old...

On my way home, just before 01:00, this was the view to the north and this to the south. Yes, the summernights in Iceland are almost as bright as day :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.