Sleeping beauty

I slept really badly. Too much heat, too much looking at a screen late at night.

Today was my first day of bring in sole charge of a baby for well over 25 years! Olivia dud not like seeing her mum leave but we survived by playing, singing, having down time in the cot,  going to the shops, sleeping, eating and spending over an hour in the pool. And the sun shone with almost no haze.

Momentous day in Edinburgh today, the Tour of Britain, much blipped, the Queen opening a railway on the day she reaches a milestone and my parents getting to 65 years of marriage.  That was the most important event today marked by a visit from Coun Aitken (the LP being otherwise engaged), flowers, presents and cards, inc one I hope from HM. And a phone call from me.

Quiet evening.  I swam,  cooked,  we Skyped Gordon and I trundled on with flat accounts and desperately tried to not fall asleep.

Edit PS - Who's amazing stroke of genius was it to have HM mark the passing of her reign milestone, in Edinburgh, standing beside an SNP First Minister, almost exactly one year on from the referendum? Watching the BBC coverage on the app with all these waving, cheering and adoring crowds you do have to think that someone has really good PR, or is that the cynic in me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.