Landscapeartist

By Landscapeartist

When Will I Learn...

..that Scottish Deerhounds and photography don't mix? 

Whilst trying to photograph this tractor this evening, I had to put the dogs on their leads as I could see a woman approaching. I heard her making a comment about me photographing the harvest but at the same time, she took it upon herself to come over to the dogs, presumably to stroke them. 

Their leads were tied together and my foot was on top of the leads, on the gravel path. 

Within a split second, both dogs yanked towards the approaching woman and my left foot stayed on top of their leads, whilst my right one remained firmly on the grass verge. Sadly, I had no time to remove my foot and my legs got further and further apart. I never knew it was possible for your legs to stretch so far apart and still be attached to your body!! I had both hands on the camera and heavy lens, so I couldn't save myself. 

The woman stood watching, helpless. The dogs were determined to get stroked and continued pulling towards her. By this time I had smashed my knee, sprained both wrists and severely damaged my dignity! Thankfully the camera and lens never made contact with the ground :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.