Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Patterns

It seems the older I get, the more patterns I see. By this I mean patterns of process, routine, and behaviour. Patterns of behaviour in people, society, politics, myself. This is nothing new of course, we all know how this all works, but it just seems more recently I'm becoming more keenly aware and more frequently annoyed by the repeating cycles that pervade our existence.

This may be something to do with recent events, politically and globally, or maybe to do with my recent re-aquaintance with the wonderful philosopher Alan Watts, but probably more to do with seeing my own children rapidly growing up, and already seeing the old familiar pressures being placed upon them to conform and fit in.

Society as a whole likes to tell you to 'think outside the box', to 'follow your dreams' but very rarely is it really meant. And even more rarely is it acted upon. We're all in a system, chugging along, and we all have a part to play. It really is a bit like the matrix after all.

So whilst I'm not suggesting that either of my kids 'drop out', I hope we can teach them to look 'beyond' the system occasionally, and not get locked into the program, like so many easily do.

Signing off. Nanoo nanoo.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.