JMK

By JMK

As White As Snow

.. that must be falling on the hills just now.

I had my Spin class this afternoon and after class we went into the city to the Isaac Theatre Royal to book our seats to the Monty Pythone Spamalot musical for Saturday afternoon. It should be a good laugh.

After dropping my friend back home I stopped by at Abberley Park where I have blipped before. I was hoping to see some Monarch Butterflies and spring flowers. I did spot one butterfly high up. There were not many spring flowers out either. I did spot this lovely flowering quince that looked so beautiful.

It was a lovely mild afternoon with 19c and no wind or sun and I had just got home when the sky went black like the end of the world. Then the wind struck and the rain and hail came down. There was a lot of thunder as well. The sudden southerly storm knocked out power to some parts of the city and the temperate dropped from 19c to 9c in less than two hours. Here are some photos people took of the storm. It is still very windy and wet.

My blip for today is the flowering quince (Chaenomeles) and is related to the edible quince and is part of the Rosaceae, or rose family, originating from China and Japan. They were formerly known as japonicas and a lot of people still know them as flowering japonicas. After flowering they produce a small fruit, which is a bit quince-like, and as these ripen they have the most exquisite, sweet, quince-like aroma. The fruit can actually be used to make a jelly or paste.

My extra shots were taken in Abberley Park

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.