Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Milky Way Over Brecon Reservoir

Just as I thought I would be in for the rest of the night, my friend Darren messaged me about 10.15pm to say it was going to be a clear night and he was going to Brecon. Brecon is designated a 'dark sky reserve' and is superb for taking photo's of the stars.

Just after 11pm he picked me up. He lives in the same village and is a serving Police Officer and part time professional photographer, so we always have lots to chat about as we travel.

One of the hard parts of astro-photography is getting a half decent foreground and that's why we decided to try and get one of the reservoir (Nant Ddu) It's pitch black and finding your way around isn't easy - plus my torch decided to play up!  The one I like best is of the Milky Way over the reservoir taken with the fisheye lens. The Milky Way was directly overhead and a 'normal' lens simply would only get part of it in.

Just after 2am, Darren dropped me home and it was straight to bed. Blip Photo sorted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.