If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Aviva Tour of Britain.

I felt like giving this the title leader of the pack, but it wouldn't be appropriate as he was leading the break away group  3 mins 40 secs ahead of the peloton.

Expecting a crowd on my chosen viewing I wandered out early with my chair and book.  The notices said the road would be closed from 12:30 until 2:00  Wrong!   There were no signs of the road being closed until just before two.  

It was touch and go as to if there were more bikes or police motorcycles, forming a rolling road closure.   By 2:10 I was walking back to the house with all riders and support vehicles having disappeared up the road.  Fortunately it was a lovely day so the sit in the sun was very enjoyable.  I needn't have worried about claiming my place early as most people chose the middle of the village as their view point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.