A Shot in the Dark

This photo was taken just before sunset, not quite dark and it's quite amazing how the camera manages to get so much light. Turned out to be very dark before I left the place it was taken.

The day had started with the usual ride, walk, pick up Flash and it looked like it was going to be a good sunny warmish day. And so it turned out. In the afternoon friend, Michael who works at the Memmingen Animal Rescue was due to visit us with his mother. Last year I Bliped them a couple of times. Sadly at midday, he phoned to say Mum was not feeling too good but he would be coming with his sister who is also charming and a worthy substitute.

Turned out to be a lovely relaxed afternoon of chatting, cake and coffee and best of all, outside. Even managed an early evening snack of melon and Parma ham. After they left I quickly hitched up the mower on the tractor and cut one of the horse fields. The field that two days before I had been told not to mow under any circumstances ..... grrrr.

Angie set off with the dogs for an evening walk and I in the car with a cardboard box to collect the male "Höckergans" from sheep farmer Karl who wanted to find him a new home as his two remaining geese were due for someone's dinner table soon. I quickly took the Blip as I arrived at the farm before it got dark.

"Höcker" is German for Bump, like the word Peter Sellers used in the Pink Panther/Jacques Clouseau film A Shot in the Dark to describe the victims "A Bump Upon the Head" In English a Chinese goose and the natural father of one of the geese I got a few weeks ago. The rest of the geese were brought in as goslings in spring and are Greylag geese.

Well, as usual, the evening at Karls didn't end up as planned. Yet again three others sitting at the table with him with a beer in the hand and about to tuck into a wonderful smelling dish. I even had to try a bit knowing full well Angie was cooking. I said I would only be gone for an hour at the most. A few hours later I left with three geese!

Angie was luckily in bed by the time I got home and quietly unloaded them into the hut close to the open bedroom window.........

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.