Squirrel day

Usual morning ritual with Angie riding and me picking up Flash. Could only do a limited amount around the garden, mainly because it was freezing cold.

Early afternoon set off for Memmingen where I had a mission to complete and an appointment with the internist. Simply a progress check. He took a blood sample, prescribed a session with a dietician and we agreed on the next checkup in December. I am very thankful for the excellent work he has done, I just need to work on myself to make the best out of the situation.

Then spent much too long in one of the largest supermarkets in Memmingen as TochterPleach had mentioned she thought she might have seen Carrs Water Biscuits there. I didn't find them but lots of other things that we never get to see our way. On the one hand, it would be great to be able to visit every day, on the other, the wallet at least doesn't get overworked.

Much too late and knowing I had to do the evening dog walk as Angie was rightly going to make use of the sauna, I dashed home and saw one of the first maize fields being harvested. I hate maize fields and am only too glad to see them gone. Whether this harvest will be used for food silage, dried for pellets or ends up producing gas & electricity in a "Bio-Gas" unit, I don't know. The harvester, a Krone Big X 580 was being driven by Tom and the Fendt 933 by Maxwell, or so the signs said in the cabin. The contractor "Fehr" is from Memmingen, a family business started in 1991 and seems to have an impressive number of machines. If one could see the photo really close up, one would see the vehicles official registration number plates are all MN (our county) FL (Fehr Lohnunternehmen "Contractors) and then the number corresponding to the machine eg 933 for the Fendt, 580 the Krone and 750 the trailer.

Got home just in time to do the walk before it got pitch dark.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.