Old times

Late summer returned today, thank goodness as we were expecting visitors again. Before they came needed to do some food prep. Angie struggled with a Tiramisu putting in the wrong alcohol, a self-made plum schnapps but in an Amaretto bottle. She tried correcting it by adding Amaretto but the result was a swimming creamy delicious alcoholic dessert rather than Tiramisu. I set about chopping up loads of fruit & raw veg for a tuna salad which friend "XYZ" always claims she wants me to make.

For the salad need mayonnaise and having last week discovered a dead simple  method of making it oneself, did so, I am still amazed that for the last 60 odd years I have lived in the belief that making  mayonnaise was a science and art in one and required an incredibly skilled hand, I think 50% of my attempts have been fraught with problems and a kitchen full of splatters all over walls and ceilings. The method I discovered is so simple and takes 30 seconds. I even videoed it and it is on Flickr.


Then longtime friends, often Bliped and sometimes Blipers themselves, ABC and XYZ along with dog K9 arrived and brought along a friend Bettina and her BC. We remet Bettina after many years at XYZ birthday party bliped back in July. We were all together at a horse stable back in 1991. Bettina brought along a couple of photos from back then which I will scan and try to back Blip.

So that the dogs could get to know one another (ours hadn't met Bettina's) they all set off for a walk first while I popped into Ottobeuren to pick up a prescription the doc gave me yesterday. Then sat down, outside, to coffee and cake from XYZ - delicious homemade apple based and she reckons it was an English recipe, Lots of chatting before an early evening snack of Hugo, Bruschetta with basil and tomatoes from the garden and the tuna salad and the weather was so good we could stay outdoors.

As always time went by too fast and hopefully, we can repeat the day again soon.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.