Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

To Catch A Raindrop With That Tongue!

I hope you can see it.  It's kind of vague coming down from the sky.   Cloudy, rainy morning but beginning to clear up by 8:30 A.M. or so.  It's the first time I've gotten the tongue of any hummingbird other than Zipppy, my Costa's.  (See a couple of other "tongue" extras!")

I have been really worried about the Zipster because I hadn't seen him him in at least a couple of weeks, at least since I last photographed him around the 25th of last month.  I thought I spotted his familiar purple gorget when I was in my living room last evening and moved over to look through my camera for a closer look.  What a relief!  There he was, during a quiet moment, when no other birds were there to bother him, taking long deep drinks.

Despite having been over run with hummers over the past couple of weeks and being thoroughly entertained by them, it was truly the first time I have been happy during that span.

Oh, and the September nectar bats are back, so if I don't take down the feeders precisely between the time the hummers are done for the evening and nightfall, they drain them of the nectar by morning.  It happened to me last night and I had only one feeder ready to go at room temperature, so that's what they got this morning. A

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.