CITY HALL

Went to Newcastle this afternoon to visit The City Hall as part of the Heritage  Open Days.  50 people turned up and the tour was led by the Manager.  We looked around backstage and then sat in the auditorium where the Manager told us of the history of the building and lots of anecdotes about the acts which have appeared.

The City Hall  - a concert hall - was opened in 1927 .The Harrison and Harrison Organ shown in my blip shot was added in 1928.
For almost 40 years the City Hall hosted concerts by major British Orchestras featuring conductors such as Sir Malcolm Sargent and soloists as Yehudi Menuhin. The 60′s saw the cultural explosion of pop music and the hall was soon playing host to “package tours” featuring The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Little Richard and Jerry Lee Lewis, as well as Newcastle’s own “Animals”. Many shows featuring five or six acts such as Gerry and the Pacemakers, Gene Pitney, The Kinks and Marianne Faithful on one bill could be seen for 10/6 (52p) or less.

The City Hall has continued to host almost every rock and pop “great” since the 60′s as well as seeing the first tours of future legends. Throughout the 70′s, 80′s and 90′s the City Hall maintained its position as one of the best and most used 2000 seated venues in the country.   Bruce Springsteen rates his City Hall show in 1981 as one of his three best shows and both Dire Straits and Elton John insisted on starting world tours in the Hall.

As well as music the City Hall has a tremendous reputation for comedy and has seen multiple sell out shows by Billy Connolly, Little Britain, Jimmy Carr, Al Murray and Frankie Boyle.

Personally I have seen concerts by Cat Stevens, T Rex, Lindisfarne ( many times ) Deep Purple and The Saw Doctors as well as a concert of Strauss waltzes complete with dancers.

The wonderful organ in my shot has been neglected over the years and has " seized up".  It would cost an enormous amount of money to restore so its just being left as it is.  It is probably the last and largest example of a Harrison and Harrison tubular - pneumatic action organ. I have also included some of the lovely ceiling in my shot.  My extra shot shows the outside of The City Hall.

After the tour I did a bit of food shopping and was lucky enough to find 3 tops I liked in a Charity shop which only cost £5 for all 3. Then I walked to the railway station to pick up the tickets for my London trip in November. 

I have not been at my best today as I woke up with a terrible sore throat which hasn't shifted all day.  Had a headache as well.  Hope I get a good nights sleep and feel better tomorrow.  I have 2 more Heritage Open day events tomorrow - a vintage bus ride and then a tour of the BBC building.

Steps today - 10,084

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.