Pausing to Remember

Today’s weather is exactly like it was on Sept 11, 2001.  It is a perfect Indian Summer day, the kind that brings the promise of a beautiful fall, after the heat and humidity of a long summer. There are anniversary reminders everywhere: on TV and radio, in cities and towns all around the country, in conversations with friends and acquaintances, here on Blip and Facebook.  

Although we believed it would never happen, life has, in fact gone on and we no longer think about it all the time.  After the attacks, when the future seemed unknown and bleak, we feared that life would never be the same and it isn’t, but we have adjusted. We are not the same.  I am not the same.  I have my own personal memories  of that day, fourteen years ago, when the events hit very close to home, and those memories are carved into my heart and mind forever.  

Today, I remember those who were lost and my thoughts are with their family and friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.