A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

A Fond Farewell

It was the last time I was to wear my police uniform and the day I was formally presented to Her Majesty the Queen Mother and to the Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police in the gardens of Buckingham Palace. This was followed by lunch with the Commissioner at New Scotland Yard. The event made the Police, London, National and International newspapers. It was also why my name is mentioned, albeit in the notes, in Baroness Healey’s book The Queen’s House*.

It’s not normal for this to happen when you leave the police service. I happened to be in the right place at the right time.

The reason we were gathered was to unveil the first memorial plaque in Buckingham Palace. It commemorates the death, during a bombing raid, of a police constable during World War II. By the time Her Majesty was introduced to me she had spoken to a few of the officer’s colleagues and a couple of his friends, tears were noticeable in her eyes. She had such fondness for her police officers and the memories of the war were still painful.

The fall story can be found on my website A Death at Garden Gate. I created it to pay tribute to PC Robinson and his colleagues and friends who helped me keep his memory alive. I hope you take a look.

In Memory of PC Stephen Robertson, Killed by Enemy Action, 8th March 1941.  

Lest We Forget.




*My copy of the Queen’s House was a Christmas present from The Queen Mother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.