2+3+1+1

By tpd

lunch for one

The gardening leave continues; I took the opportunity to get some practice in and met Tung for lunch at St. Martin-in-the-Fields. Quick drive down to the Southbank, parked in the basement of the National Theatre. What a beautiful building; spacious and full of pools of light. And a rather solitary figure eating lunch.

Anniversary of 9/11: I remember the day well, as I'm sure many people do. I think it was the first time I'd seen a news website completely unresponsive because of volume of traffic. News was trickling through that a plane had flown into one of the twin towers but because of the chinese whispers effect it wasn't clear how big the plane was. When I finally got home (back in the days when work was a short walk from South Learmonth Gardens to Randolf Place in Edinburgh) the TV was showing the footage on loop. Watching the planes smash into the towers is easily one of the most mind-bending experiences I've had: the knowledge that you were watching something that looked like a blockbuster movie but was all too real was too much to take in. 

Today I made it home, safe and sound, to my slightly hyperactive, noisy and sometimes vexing (but lovely) family, and had some great family time and a completely uneventful evening (in the best possible way). I should count my blessings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.