More Dead Flowers

Another day, another school run!
It's been a long week this first week of term. For everyone!
Soon be half term!!
I had a productive day - banking, dropping things at charity shops, tidying, taking bags to the tip and feeding the caterpillar.
Miss E has a giant pet caterpillar - with horns! - which we're doing our best to keep alive and see what it turns into.
Papa came round to babysit tonight and Mr K and I headed over to Milton Keynes. First for some very unsuccessful shopping - I forgot the receipt to take some boots back to Clarks, White Stuff didn't have the jumper I wanted in my size and I couldn't use the voucher I have to order it,  and then I was too hungry and tired to carry on to look for the other things I had planned to.
Then it was to the cinema for a preview of the 3D IMAX Everest. We were early so decided to go for some dinner first. Prezzo had forty five minute wait, they were queueing out of the door in Nandos so we went to the third one along - Pizza Express, ordered Tescos vouchers and had a huge calzone with polenta chips (Mr K) and a superfood salad (me).  Very nice and all the better for being free!
Then we went to the Odeon next door and ate our body weight in nachos and popcorn at the Gallery upstairs. Getting our money's worth from the free drinks and snacks included in the price of the much-more-expensive-than-normal tickets!
I am an avid armchair mountaineer and the story of the 1996 Everest disaster has always interested me. I've read Into Thin Air a few times and several of the rebuttals that were written by the other members of the expedition.
I didn't realise until last week that they'd made a film of the events and we booked snazzy Gallery seats for the preview.
My first ever 3D film!
It was a bit too long but visually spectacular and loud and dramatic and harrowing and exhausting!
It didn't quite capture the detail of the books but I enjoyed it.
Perhaps one day I'll make it to Base Camp!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.