Becoming British

Day 1 of reintegration.

British things I have done:

- Visiting a tearoom with an old friend for tea and scones
- Strolling around the quaint centre of Ely looking at pretty rows of houses and old morose men in hi-vis jackets
- Encountering an anti-immigrant Labour supporter and biting my tongue
- Watching the Great British Bake Off on iplayer
- Unpacking my warm clothing in preparation for the seasons to come
- Being wowed by the artisanal bread at the market

Areas where work is needed:

- Reducing paranoia that my bag will be snatched if I carry it on one shoulder
- Not picking my nose in public
- Not alarming coffee shop baristas by saying something out of the ordinary
- Saying 'thank you' instead of 'orkun charan' and not wanting to address people as 'bong'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.